Veggie Burgers

Hi all!  I missed posting last week – oops.  Last week was incredibly busy for me, as I had the privilege of being involved in our church’s Easter production called The Rock.  It was a one hour original play with music and drama, and was just so fun to be a part of!  I played K2 – the second keyboard, responsible for all string sounds.  In case you want to check it out, I will post the link here.  It’s probably not what you think of when you think of a church play, so check it out.

Anyway, hours and hours of practice led to very little cooking or baking time. There was NOTHING original going on in the kitchen.  Ha, ha.  Something that I also did that week, and the week prior, was to cut out most of the sugar in my diet.  Sugar suppresses the immune system, and I wanted the best shot at staying healthy for our five performances.  And now, I think I want to keep sugar out for a while to give myself the best shot at not being embarrassed around the pool this summer.  🙂

This week’s post will be a healthy little veggie burger.  This recipe is heavily based on one by Angela Liddon – Oh She Glows – with a few changes to make it one that I can eat.  They hold together really well, and I’m wondering if they might even hold together well enough to put on the bbq this summer.

1 tbsp. ground flaxseed plus 3 tbsp. water

1 15 oz. can of black beans, drained and rinsed

1 cup grated sweet potato

1 tbsp. dried parsley

1/2 cup sunflower seeds, plain or toasted

3/4 cup gluten free oats, processed into flour

1/2 tbsp. olive oil

1 tsp. chili powder

1 tsp. oregano

1/2 tsp. cumin

1 tsp. salt

pepper to taste

Mash the beans into a paste.  Stir in the rest of the ingredients.  Adjust seasoning to your own taste.

IMG-20160330-00246

Shape into patties with your hands.  (7 or 8).  Place on a parchment lined baking sheet.  Bake at 350* F for 15 minutes.  Flip over, and bake for 10-15 min. more.

(picture below is missing two patties – hubby grabbed two before we took a picture)

IMG-20160330-00247

 

Leave a comment