Tropical Green Smoothie

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!  In honour of the day, I’ve made myself a green smoothie for breakfast.

For those of you that suffer from multiple food sensitivities/allergies, as I do, you know there are some days that you can’t even look at food.  As much as you try, there are days when  your belly goes into overdrive, for no particular reason. It seems that, as  careful as I am, from time to time something sneaks into my food that I am sensitive to, throwing me off for days.  Does this ever happen to you?  Please tell me I’m not the only one…… 🙂

Anyway, on those days, I find a good option for me is a smoothie. I can still sneak in a lot of nutrients, and the BlendTec breaks everything down for me, so it’s easy to digest. I can take sips through the day and before you know it I’ve “eaten” some fruit and veggies.

I borrowed heavily from Angela Liddon’s Tropical Green Monster Smoothie recipe for this one, switching up some things for personal taste.  Check her out over at Oh She Glows.  Her recipes are awesome!

I used to  make this when I babysat my grandson, so in his honour, we’ll call this one…

Jackson’s Green Smoothie

1/2 cup coconut milk

1/2 cup water

1 cup frozen mango chunks

1/2 cup frozen pineapple chunks

1/4 cup curly parsley

1 inch piece of fresh peeled ginger

Throw all the ingredients into a high powered blender (I am fortunate enough to have a husband who agreed with me buying a BlendTec- when I found one on sale).  Set to Whole Foods and let ‘er rip!

Enjoy.

Leave a comment