SuperButter!

As someone with eating issues – as in, there are a lot of foods that my body really hates and reacts strongly to – it is always exciting to find a new product that tastes good and is something I can eat.  Really – I have such simple desires……….food that I can eat.  🙂  Enter SuperButter.  First off, I love the name.  It’s like a superhero of food.  One of my favourite “butters” is Sunbutter, which is made of sunflower seeds.  This product ups the ante and uses sunflower, sesame and flax seeds.  Here is a quote taken directly from their web site:

 

We heard your requests and concerns from the beginning! SuperButter Premium Seed Butters are not only free of major allergens, but are also made in a facility that is free of peanuts, tree nuts (including coconut), dairy, eggs, wheat, soy, fish and shellfish. There is no chance of cross contamination – these eight major allergens are never allowed to enter our plant.

 

That makes me do a happy dance.  There is a guarantee that none of my allergens are in it, and cannot ever be in it.  Knowing this, my next step was to get my hands on some and taste it.  I was able to get all four flavours:  Original Creamy, Original Crunchy, Vanilla Bean and Chocolate.  My husband and I sat down with some spoons (many spoons – no double dipping here!), and tasted.

IMG_0434 (2)

Original Creamy – as stated, nice and creamy, and had a nice, nutty taste without having any nuts in it.

Original Crunchy – same flavour as the creamy, but with some texture.

Chocolate – hello, allergen free Nutella.  🙂  It’s almost a subtle hit of chocolate, but it’s definitely there.  Yum.

Vanilla Bean – probably the favourite for both of us.  You get the hit of vanilla taste almost as an after-taste, and then – hello vanilla.

Having assessed the product and found it much to our liking, I decided to use it in a recipe, so here you go –

SuperButter Drops

1/2 cup butter or margarine (whichever fits your dietary needs – both work fine)

1/2 cup non dairy milk (I used flax beverage)

1 3/4 cups sugar (I used organic)

1/2 cup cocoa powder (or cacao)

3 cups oats (make sure these are gluten free)

1/2 cup smooth SuperButter

Combine first four ingredients in a saucepan.  Bring to a boil over medium heat, stirring often.  Boil for 3 minutes.  Remove from heat.  Stir in oats and SuperButter.  Drop by spoonfuls onto parchment paper lined cookie sheets.  Refrigerate until set.

IMG-20160220-00233

As you can see, these were lovely, and shining with chocolate goodness.  I haven’t been eating much sugar lately, so I found them a little sweet, but my husband assures me they are just fine.

Enjoy!

 

2 thoughts on “SuperButter!

Leave a Reply

