The Entrepreneur’s 24 Hours

Everyone has the same 24 hours in a day.

I am trying to ‘have it all!’ I have two beautiful, incredible children that fill my hubby and I with so much joy! They love each other, they have fun together and they are such good friends! While we have plenty of parenting moments that cause us to sigh and cry, we have an absolutely wonderful family.
blog1 blog2

I have a thriving, exciting, and delicious business! I am constantly looking to innovate and find new ways to conduct my personal business and help service my customers, but I am also working with 300 team members to help them do the same. I love our team meetings, training and the creativity that is shared among members. And again, while the businessMompreneur2, like any, has bumps in the road and difficulties to overcome , this business is an incredible blessing. I have so many amazing opportunities to meet other entrepreneurs and business woman, earn incentive trips and awards. Most recently, I was chosen as 1 of the 20 finalists (out of 17,000 members) in the Mompreneur community. I cannot wait to see where this business takes me next!
JamaicaGroup
I love working out, playing volleyball, volunteering with events at my church, mentoring high school girls and being present in my community.

So, how does an entrepreneur, a businesswoman with a family, or a mom trying to homeschool, etc. – how do we accomplish what we need to do in our 24 hours? I would love to hear from you! For now, here are my thoughts on our time…

1. Network with like-minded moms or entrepreneurs
For myself, I know that I cannot do it all. And while I still try….I fail, and I have to come back to the reality over and over again that I will need help. I rely on my network to help me find events, give referrals, or even trade services! Just today, in fact, I had my friend Craig from Shineco Cleaning Services come over and help me with my carpets and stairs in exchange for some of my business services (aka. delicious tea!). We both had a service the other was looking for and we could collaborate with each other to get it done!
Ps. I highly recommend Craig, of course! He does professional work, is friendly and great to work with on the job, and the proof is in the pictures – check out his work!

2. Multi-task….wisely!
I am the queen of multi-tasking many times to my own demise. I will “multi-task” by catching up on my favourite show while working only to realize that I need to triple-check all my work because I am not paying attention. That kind of work is not productive, efficient or helpful to your business.
The kind of multi-tasking that works for me are things like:
-Exercising while listening to a company conference call
-Catching up with a friend while packaging tea samples
-Bringing samples and information while I do errands to share as I go
-Inviting team members to my parties to train on the job

3. Schedule what’s important
As much as it sounds very boring and ‘adult’ to ‘pencil in’ coffee with a friend or a date with your spouse, scheduling has been key to helping my business and life run successfully. I need to know exactly what my calendar looks like – when is my free time to play with my kids, when are my conference calls and coaching calls with team members, when is my personal time, etc.
Personally, I like my online calendar best – I plug in everything on my computer and it syncs to my phone. However, you may prefer a day timer and that’s great – do what works!
Now, saying this…I completely missed an appointment at my chiropractor’s this morning because I forgot to look at my calendar. So…yeah. Oops!

I know that I need to work-out, and I love playing volleyball, so I plug into my calendar specific times every day to make it happen. I don’t just rely on free time to pop up and allow me to go do this. My husband is my number one supporter and dates with him are so important to me! However, with our family, miscellaneous activities for both of us, his work and my business, if we don’t plan dates, they aren’t going to happen. Just last week, we were trying to find a time to do something very simple – eat food and watch TV – and we kept failing to make it happen! I had a fundraiser meeting one night, he had a migraine the next night, then I had volleyball…life goes by too fast to just hope that you can accomplish all that you want!

4. Make S.M.A.R.T. goals for both the short- and long-term
Have you ever come across the S.M.A.R.T. system for goal setting? If you haven’t,  you need to take a look at this video that explains it quite well.

When you have both short- (monthly) and long-term (yearly) goals, you can work daily with specific action steps knowing that you are on the right path to achieve what you want to achieve. When you work spontaneously, randomly or frantically, you will get exactly those kinds of results.

Random Actions = Random Results

It’s truly as simple as that.

We all know – 24 hours goes by in a flash. Days turn into weeks and weeks into months and we sit back and wonder –

Why am I not progressing in this area of my life?!

I did that recently. I looked at myself in the mirror and thought – have I given up? When did I stop working out? When did I stop making this a priority?

I have had two beautiful babies and my body does not bounce back well (weight-wise) from having babies. My pregnancies are amazing, I feel so incredibly healthy and I truly love the entire process. Afterwards, though, it can take a toll on my weight.  I love working out, playing sports and being active, but somewhere along the way as I had these babies, launched my business, maintained two jobs (for two years) and did all the mom and wife things, I stoblog4pped planning to work out, scheduling it in my day, or setting goals for my physical activity.
Ps. No more!! Thanks to an amazing challenge from our founder, Tonia, I am back in the habit and so happy to be pushing myself in this area! Follow me here and I will cheer you on in your own journey!
So, my question for you is this – what are your goals and how will you achieve them? How will you use your 24 hours a day to maximize the opportunities that you have?

10352253_10203222306218702_2965051865575610995_n

Leave a Reply

