Ranger Cookies

Today’s blog is inspired by…..my childhood.  I’ve always liked Ranger cookies, but wasn’t aware that the first time I had them was when we went on holidays as a family to Ranger Lake, in Northern Ontario.  Apparently I was either way more into the rustic lifestyle as a child, or forced to enjoy it by my parents, because by all appearances, this was quite….rustic.  Family lore has it that my Nana went to put on her shoe in the morning and there was a mouse in it.  Come to think of it, a psychologist might say that these kinds of early childhood vacations have ingrained in me my love of not being in rustic places to this day.  🙂

Anyway – to the recipe!  My hubby says this might be my best one yet.  I say he might be right.  These cookies were easy to make, and thanks to a new find in Enjoy Life foods product line, nice and crunchy.

 

Ranger Cookies

1/2 cup margarine

1/2 cup white sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar

1 chia egg (1 tbsp. ground chia seed + 3 tbsp. water – let set into a gel)

1 tsp. vanilla

3/4 cup white rice flour

1/4 cup potato starch

1 tsp. xanthan gum

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1/4 tsp. baking powder

3/4 tsp. salt

1 cup Enjoy Life Crunchy Rice Cereal

1 cup rolled oats (make sure these are gluten free)

1/2 cup coconut

1/2 cup mini chocolate chips

 

Cream margarine and sugars together.  Add in the chia egg and vanilla.

Stir the flours, xanthan gum, powder, soda and salt together.  Mix into the creamed ingredients.

Add cereal, oats, coconut and chocolate chips.  Mix well.  The batter will be thick.  Roll into one inch balls and arranged on a baking sheet (lined with parchment paper).  Bake at 375*F for 7-8 minutes, until bottoms are browned.

Makes 3 dozen.

Eat.  Enjoy.

(As always, the more organic ingredients you use, the better.  I used organic sugar and coconut, and of course, the Enjoy Life products are “free from” foods, so no worries about allergens there!)

Leave a Reply

