Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

Recently we were invited to join the Canadian panel of bloggers involved with Enjoy Life products.  This is a great opportunity, not only because I already use these products all the time, but also a chance for me to spread the love!  Everything of theirs I have tried I’ve loved, and I’m really looking forward to taking part in sampling and sharing new products with our readers.

The first thing that happened was that a box was delivered to my door.  I really, really love getting packages in the mail.  🙂  Upon opening, I found inside two packages of mini chocolate chips, two boxes of Cocoa Loco bars, and two pamphlets from Enjoy Life, outlining their dedication to “free from” foods.  A quote from their web site:  “Free-from living means leading a life without exposure to food allergens that can harm your body. It’s not always easy, but with information, determination and a stock of tasty allergy-friendly foods (like those from Enjoy Life Foods!), free-from living becomes “freedom for living.”  It is so freeing to know I can pick up anything with their label on it and EAT IT.  If you don’t have food sensitivities, I’m happy for you, but if you do, you will completely understand what I mean here.

IMG_9000

Seeing as this blog is done jointly with my lovely daughter, the next step was to take everything over to her place to gleefully show her, and to sample.  And seeing as the kids were there and not napping, we had extra willing little samplers on hand.  Since I had already used the chocolate chips plenty of times, we opened up a box of the Cocoa Loco bars.  As you can see from my grandson’s face, they were a hit!

 

The first recipe I am sharing using some of these products is one I created for oatmeal chocolate chip cookies.  But before I share the recipe, I have to share an interesting thing  I learned when making these cookies……apparently when you use Sunbutter and baking soda in a baked good, there is some sort of chemical reaction that goes on that turns the inside of your cookie…..green!  Ha, ha.  The first day everything was normal, but the second day I bit into one and it was green.  A little shocking, but nothing that taints the flavour or affects the quality of the cookie.  Upon doing a little research, I found that if you add a little vinegar to your batter, it could combat this reaction, but hey – I said I’d be honest when I started this blog, so yeah…..cookies that were green on the inside.  Think…St. Patrick’s Day.  🙂 If you make these, eat them anyway – you don’t want to waste those delicious chocolate chips!

 

IMG-20160125-00221

 

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

3/4 cup brown rice flour

1/4 cup tapioca starch

1/4 cup potato starch

1 tsp. xanthan gum

1 cup gluten free oats

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. salt

3/4 cup brown sugar

1/3 cup margarine

1/3 cup Sunbutter

1 chia egg (1 tbsp. ground chia seeds + 3 tbsp. water)

chocolate chips (no measurement given because…..I usually just grab a handful and throw them in)

Combine your flours, xanthan gum, oats, baking soda and salt.  Set aside.

Beat together the brown sugar, margarine, Sunbutter and chia egg.  I just used a wooden spoon and my muscles.  🙂

Add dry ingredients and chocolate chips.  Stir well until nicely blended.  Roll into 1 1/2 inch balls and place on parchment paper on a baking sheet.  Flatten slightly with a fork.  (If you dip your fork into one of the flours you used, it won’t stick to the cookies.)  Bake for about 8 minutes – every oven is a little different, so peek at the bottom of the cookie.  If it’s brown, the cookies are done.

These stayed fresh for days! I was quite impressed.  Sometimes gluten free baking tends to get stale quickly, but not these.

So – go grab yourself some delicious Enjoy Life “free from” chocolate chips and get baking.  As a matter of fact, I have to go get some more myself, because maybe, just maybe, I ate some of the chocolate chips I was sent, and need more for another recipe…..

Have you ever made something that tasted just fine but looked….odd…..like my green cookies?  Post a comment and let me know!

 

 

Leave a Reply

