Coconut Chocolate Chip Muffins

I’m a day late posting!  This troubles my obsessive soul.  Ha, ha.  I will forgive myself since we are just out of the Christmas holiday season, and I’m at the end of my first week back at teaching piano.

Anyway, as of late I’ve been eating protein bars for breakfast.  There is only one brand that I found that is edible for me, given my dietary restrictions.  However, this brand is fairly pricey, and I just didn’t want to spend that money anymore –  New Year’s resolution to tighten the belt and all……   Having formed the habit of an easy-to-grab breakfast, I needed to figure out something else to eat.  I’m not really a big breakfast eater, so when I came up with these muffins, they fit the bill.  They are small-ish in size, but filling.

Coconut Chocolate Chip Muffins

1/2 cup margarine (or butter)

1 cup brown sugar

1 chia egg (1 tbsp. ground chia seeds + 3 tbsp. water)

1/2 cup shredded coconut (I used unsweetened organic)

1/2 cup chocolate chips or chunks (I used Enjoy Life)

1 mashed banana

1 tsp. baking powder

2 tsp. xanthan gum

1 cup non dairy beverage, soured with 1 tbsp. lemon juice (I used Flax beverage )

2 cups gluten free flour (I used 1 1/4 cup white rice flour, 1/2 cup potato starch, and 1/4 cup tapioca starch)

Cream together margarine, sugar, and chia egg.  Add in the coconut, chocolate chips, baking powder, and banana. Add in the liquid and flour, stirring to combine.  Put in greased muffin tins and bake at 350*F for 30 minutes.  Makes 12 muffins.

 

IMG-20151230-00200

Yum.

 

Leave a Reply

