Chocolate Popcorn

Happy New Year’s Eve!  Hubby and myself have no plans as of yet, which probably means we will either just stay put and sit in the hot tub, or make a brief stop at my daughter’s place, and then come home and sit in the hot tub.  Ha, ha.

I thought I’d share this easy recipe for a New Year’s Eve snack.  It’s not original to me, but I have no idea where it came from, and therefore can’t give any credit for it to a specific source.  It’s easy and yummy, and great for snacking on while you sit around and play games.

Chocolate Popcorn

12 cups of popped corn (I use more than this – I just fill my roaster.  I find that otherwise there is too much topping per piece of popcorn.  If you like things thickly coated, stick to the 12 cups).

1 cup sugar

2/3 cup Lyle’s golden syrup (or you could use corn syrup, if you have that in the house)

2 tbsp. butter or margarine

6 ounces (1 cup) or chocolate pieces (I use Enjoy Life)

1 tsp. vanilla extract

Preheat the oven to 250* F.  In a saucepan over medium heat, melt together sugar, syrup, and butter or margarine.  Bring to a boil, stirring constantly.  Remove from heat and stir in chocolate pieces and vanilla.   Pour the hot mixture over the popcorn, stirring well (but gently – you don’t want to break you nice popcorn pieces!) to coat.  Bake for one hour, stirring now and then.

When it comes out of the oven, dump it into a couple large bowls, and stir gently while it cools so you don’t get huge clumps of popcorn stuck together.

IMG-20151231-00201

Enjoy with family and friends.  Perfect for eating while playing games!

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Popcorn

Leave a Reply

