Pineapple Fruit Cake

It’s almost Christmas!  Back in the day, when my kids all lived at home, I used to make upwards of a dozen varieties of cookies and squares.  Of course, that was also before I had food sensitivities.  This year I made six different things, including pineapple fruit cake.

The original recipe for this fruitcake is an old one.  When my Nana passed away a few years ago, I found an old ring bound bunch of recipes put together by the ladies of her church.  I saved a few that looked promising.  This recipe was one of them.  I have been able to successfully tweak it to work with my food issues, and it’s really good!  Even if you aren’t generally a fruit cake lover, I think you’d like this one.  We decorated our tree on the week-end, and as tradition dictates, we had out a platter of Christmas baking.  My one year old granddaughter couldn’t get enough fruitcake – crazy girl!

 

Pineapple Fruit Cake

1 cup crushed pineapple with juice

1/4 lb. green cherries

1/4 lb. red cherries

1/2 lb. white raisins

1/2 lb. mixed fruit (I use fancy mixed fruit, to avoid some of the peel)

Put above five ingredients in a bowl, cover, and let sit overnight.

1/4 cup + 2 tbsp. butter or margarine

1/2 cup sugar

1 1/2 chia eggs (1 1/2 tbsp. ground chia seed mixed with 4 1/2 tbsp. water)

Cream these three things together.

3/4 cup white rice flour

1/4 cup potato starch

1/4 cup tapioca starch

1/4 tsp. salt

1 tsp. baking powder

Add dry ingredients to creamed mixture.  Stir in fruits.  Bake in a loaf pan lined with parchment paper for 2 1/2 hours at 300*F.

IMG-20151209-00198

 

You’re going to have to trust me.  This fruitcake is YUMMY.  You have time to make it before Christmas – go for it!

 

Leave a Reply

