Hawaiian Chicken Casserole

The weather is turning….the wind has picked up, the temperatures are dropping, and the day is dark when I get up, and it’s dark again before I finish teaching piano.  If there were ever a season for comfort food, this is it.  And so, this week (and possibly for the foreseeable future) I’m going to stick with a comfort food recipe.

I was flipping through a cookbook the other day and found a recipe with a notation that my son-in-law really likes it.  I tend to write on my recipes with any changes I’ve made, who likes it and who doesn’t, etc.  On further investigation though, it was obviously a recipe I’d made before all  my food sensitivities set in.  Not one to back down from a challenge, I did some substitutions, and voila! Hawaiian Chicken Casserole.  I’ve made it twice, and my husband loves it, so I guess my changes were successful.

 

Hawaiian Chicken Casserole

4 cups cooked and diced chicken (I season it a little while cooking it)

1 1/2 cups uncooked Minute Rice

8 oz. of chicken bouillon, thickened to a gravy like consistency (I made the bouillon from Epicure Chicken Bouillon mix, and while it was still hot, stirred in some potato starch to thicken)

1 cup diced celery

1 cup Soy-Free Vegenaise

2 tsp. lemon juice

14 oz can of pineapple tidbits, drained

Topping:

1/4 cup melted butter or margarine

2 cups cornflakes (I used these)

Combine the first seven ingredients in a bowl.  Mix well, then put in a casserole dish.  Crush the cornflakes a little, and mix with the  melted butter.  Put on top of the casserole.  Bake at 350*F for 40 minutes, or until cornflakes start to brown.

IMG_0416 IMG_0418

(Note:  I made this and left a note for my husband to please take a picture before digging in, as I was teaching piano.  He was hungry, and he loves it, so he just ate it and forgot.  When I questioned him later he got the blank, stunned look of someone who knows what they should have done, but didn’t.  Ha, ha.  Thus we have a picture of a “dug into” casserole.”)

2 thoughts on “Hawaiian Chicken Casserole

Leave a Reply

