Beef Vegetable Soup

It’s coming….the season whose name I shall not speak.  It consists of cold, wind, white stuff on the ground, and high heating bills.  Yeah – THAT season.

One thing that makes that season a little more bearable is comfort food.  When the kids were younger, and finances were tight, a pot of soup and some homemade rolls made a filling, nutritious and budget-friendly meal.  We still make lots of soup, even as empty nesters.

I’ve mentioned before that hubby is Dutch.  I don’t know if it is true for all Dutch families, but in his, soup was a daily thing.  There were eleven children in his family, and soup was served first, and then the main meal.  I suspect the hope was that people would fill up a little on soup, and then consume a little less in the way of expensive meats, veggies, etc.  Because of this, my husband is still a lover of soup, and he’ll eat any kind I make.  I decided on this one today mostly because I had every ingredient in the house.  Word of warning – this makes a HUGE pot of soup.  You will need a stock pot, not just a dutch oven.  You will have soup for supper, for lunch the next day, and for the hungry people walking by that smell it cooking in your house.   Ha, ha.

 

Beef Vegetable Soup

6 cups of beef broth (homemade or organic store bought) OR six cups of water with six beef bouillon cubes (I much prefer broth – the cubes are too salty for  my taste)

28 oz can of tomatoes, mashed

10 oz can of tomato soup (I used tomato soup I made and froze in the summer)

2 cups shredded carrot

2 cups shredded potato

1 large chopped onion (I am currently not eating onions, so I left mine in one piece and fished it out after the soup was finished – so I had the flavour and not the actual onion)

1 cup chopped celery

1/2 cup quinoa

6 cups water

1 tbsp. parsley flakes

1 tsp. sugar

1 tsp. salt

1/4 tsp. pepper

1/4 tsp. thyme

3 cups chopped beef (I used stewing beef – cooked and them cut into bite size pieces.  You could cook up hamburger and use it too.  Because – who has 3 cups of leftover roast beef???)

Heat the first amount of water and bouillon or stock.

Add remaining ingredients except beef.  Bring to a boil and let simmer for 1 1/2 hours, or until the veggies are softened.  Add beef and simmer for 1/2 hour more……or until you want to eat.  Mine was probably on the stove, simmering gently, for a total of 3 hours while I taught piano.

Soup

If you use stock and not bouillon cube, you will likely need to add a little more salt and pepper to taste.  Just add a little at a time….you can’t get the salt back once it’s in!

Leave a Reply

