Quick Oatmeal Squares

Oops – it’s Thursday already!  The week got away on me.  It’s been a busy one, and….I have to get a filling today.  I dislike going to the dentist.  It stems from childhood, I think, when I went once and he accidentally froze half my face, and it stayed that way most of the day.  He was not a gentle dentist, and cared little whether you were leery of  him or not.  That day I had contacts in, and couldn’t blink on one side.  It was not good.  Anyway, I have let this dental appointment consume way too much of my head space this week, and therefore forgot to get my recipe ready to go!

When my kids were all small, it took a lot of homemade snacks to fill three lunches every day.  I did homemade because a) they are better, and b) store bought were just too expensive.  This recipe was a go-to – not many ingredients, and simple to make.  I tried it this week without allergens, and it worked just as well as the original!  It makes me so happy when that happens.

1/4 cup white rice flour

1/4 cup + 1 tbsp. sweet sorghum flour

3/4 tsp. baking powder

1/4 tsp. salt

1/2 cup + 1 tbsp. brown sugar

1/4 cup + 2 tbsp. butter or margarine

1 tsp. vanilla

1/8 cup water

1 cup oats, uncooked

1 cup chocolate chips or chunks

Preheat oven to 375* F.  Combine brown sugar, butter and vanilla until well blended.  Blend in flours, baking powder, and salt alternately with water.  Stir in the oats and chocolate chunks.  Spread in a small greased baking dish (I used a 5″ x 9″).  Bake for 30 minutes.  Cool before cutting.

oatmeal square

Yum.

Leave a Reply

