Chocolate Pumpkin Brownies

This week I have put myself on a self-imposed fast from chocolate.  You may or may not have noticed that a lot of my recipes have chocolate in the title, and if not there, in the ingredient list.  In an effort to stop the cycle of “needing” chocolate, I’m going to take a week off, and then see if it still tastes as good.  My money is on the fact that it most certainly will, but we’ll see.  🙂

*Post edited to be honest – I stayed off chocolate for 36 hours.  I am weak.*

Fortunately for me, I did some baking on Saturday.  Since it’s still fall, and it seems to have become a new tradition that everything from hot chocolate, to lattes, to pies, to cookies must include pumpkin, I wanted to see if I could incorporate pumpkin into a brownie recipe (and at the same time convince myself that it they had pumpkin in them, they MUST be healthy, and therefore could be eaten at will…..)

The result was good!  Not a cake-y brownie, but more fudge-y in texture.  I frosted them with a simple buttercream icing.  I think they’d be fine without icing, or with a few chocolate chips sprinkled on top right out of the oven, so they would  melt and you could spread them in a delicious thin layer.

 

Chocolate Pumpkin Brownies

2 oz. unsweetened chocolate

1/4 cup + 2 tbsp. pumpkin (not pie filling)

1 cup sugar

2 chia eggs

3/4 cup gluten free flour mix (recipe here)

1/2 tsp. xanthan gum

Melt chocolate, and let cool slightly.  Stir into pumpkin.  Stir in remaining ingredients.  Bake in a greased 8 x 8 pan for 25-30 minutes at 350*.

Pumpkin brownie

The batter will seem WAY too thick to make a decent brownie, but as you can see in the picture, they will turn out fudgy and delicious!

*I used Camino unsweetened chocolate

*2 chia eggs = 2 tbsp. ground chia seed + 6 tbsp. water.  Mix and let set for 10 minutes or so.

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Pumpkin Brownies

    1. Chia eggs work great! I only substitute up to two eggs in a recipe with them, but they do a really good job of replacing a “real” egg.

      Like

Leave a Reply

