Chocolate Potato Cake

That’s right!  Potato cake.  But first, the back story.

Thanksgiving was last week, and I hosted.  I tend to figure that if I’m making one meal, I should make enough so that I don’t have to cook the next meal i.e. we can have leftovers the next day.   On Thanksgiving we were having nine adults and two children, and my calculations were slightly off in regards to how much food we would need.  Suffice it to say, we all ate, people took leftovers home, my husband and I had leftovers for more than one day, and we had a gorgeous pot of soup as well.   We could not handle another serving of potatoes, so I wracked my brain as to how I could use up some of those little veggies.

And then I remembered – once I had seen a recipe for chocolate cake made with potatoes.  Knowing that my husband will eat almost anything (he grew up in a family of eleven children, so if you didn’t eat what was in front of you, someone else would!), I decided to give it a go.  The results were very impressive.  It made a bundt cake that was moist and delicious.   When given to people as a taste test, no one guessed my  mystery ingredient.  Bonus!  You can tell yourself that eating a piece of cake is just fine, because you’re also eating vegetables.

3/4 cup mashed potatoes (not mashed potatoes with milk and butter in them, but simply cooked potatoes, mashed)

2 cups sugar (I used organic)

1 3/4 cups gluten free flour mix (recipe at the bottom)

1 1/2 tsp. baking soda

2 tsp. xanthan gum

4 ounces unsweetened chocolate, melted and slightly cooled

4 ounces softened butter or margarine

1 tsp. vanilla extract

2 chia eggs

1 tbsp. lemon juice + non dairy milk to make 3/4 cup

Combine the dry ingredients.  Add potatoes, melted chocolate and vanilla, and combine on low speed with a mixer.  Raise the speed to medium and beat for 2 or 3 minutes.  Mix together the chia eggs and liquid, and add slowly to the batter.  Combine completely.  Scrape batter into a greased bundt or tube pan.  Bake in a 350* oven for about an hour, until it tests done with a toothpick.  Cool in the pan for 20 minutes, and then remove cake from pan and finish cooling on a rack.

 

I put a simple glaze on this cake – just some chocolate chips melted down with a little flax milk, drizzled over the top.  A dusting of icing sugar would be nice too, or it would be fine with nothing.  Your choice!

(and of course, it goes without saying that a lovely cup of tea would make this just about perfect.)

Potato cake two Potato cake one

 

Notes:

Potato – I put mine in the food processor just to make sure there were no little lumps

Gluten Free Flour Mix:  2 parts white rice flour, 2/3 part potato starch, 1/3 part tapioca starch.  I make this up in bulk so it’s on hand when I need it.

I used Camino unsweetened baking squares

Chia eggs: – 2 tbsp. ground chia seeds, 6 tbsp. water.  Let soak for 15 minutes.

7 thoughts on “Chocolate Potato Cake

  1. I’ve only tried it with potatoes – and it was super moist. Some gluten free baking wants to fall apart, I find, but this one flipped out of the pan all in one piece, and cut well too! If you try sweet potatoes let me know how it goes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

