Pumpkin Squares

Hi all!  It was Canadian Thanksgiving this past week-end, and I hosted.  It was just our immediate family, but still, that is nine adults, one three year old, and a one year old.  So…for the first time that meant putting all three leaves in the table, two people sitting on the piano bench, a high chair pulled up to the table, and one chair extended into the living room (where that person could, coincidentally, keep their eye on the Blue Jays game playing on the muted t.v.  Hubby sacrificed and took that spot.  Ha, ha.)  This is what my idea of making my table fancy looks like….I’m a little more into family, food and fellowship than frills.  🙂

IMG-20151012-00172

 

I figured I would order a fresh turkey, since when I read the Butterball label there were six ingredients.  Seriously???  All I want in my turkey is…..turkey.  So, we ordered a fresh one.  I figured – twenty pounds would be great – leftovers, take home portions, etc.  We went in to pick it up, and thank goodness hubby was with me, because they got me a 24 pound one.  This thing’s thighs were bigger than my granddaughter’s.  Mercy.  However, it was a beautiful turkey, and it made VATS of gravy.  I did not know it was possible to have too much gravy, but at this point I’m pretty sure the gravy will outlast the leftovers.

 

So dinner was yummy, and a traditional turkey dinner.  We always celebrate my youngest son’s birthday on Thanksgiving Day as well, since it usually falls within a day of the big meal.  This year he requested “some sort of peanut butter pie”.  I made him one, but wanted something pumpkin to go with it.  I went back to an old recipe I have for Pumpkin Squares, tweeked it a bit, and it was great!  Word from the family is that it is so good because it is still pumpkin, but not as heavy as pie.

Crust:

1/3 cup margarine or butter

1 1/2 cups gluten free graham wafer crumbs (I use Kinnikinnick)

1/4 cup white sugar

Melt butter or  margarine.  Stir in crumbs and sugar.  Press into an ungreased 8 x 8 pan.  Bake in a 350* oven for 10 minutes.  Let cool

Filling:

1/4 oz. (one envelope) unflavoured gelatin powder

3/4 cup cold water

1/2 cup white sugar

1/2 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. cinnamon

1/2 tsp. nutmeg

1/2 tsp. ginger

14 oz. pumpkin (not pie filling – pure pumpkin)

1 cup Nutriwhip

Sprinkle gelatin over cold water in a saucepan.  Let stand for five minutes.  Next heat, stirring, over medium heat to dissolve.

Mix, sugar, salt and spices well.  Stir into gelatin.  Remove from heat.  Add pumpkin and mix.  Chill until it shows signs of thickening.

Whip Nutriwhip until stiff.  Fold into thickened pumpkin mixture.  Spread over crumb crust.  Store in fridge until ready to serve.

IMG_0401

This recipe has been submitted for possible inclusion in Allergy Free Wednesday…..seen here:  http://www.tessadomesticdiva.com/allergy-free-wednesdays

Leave a Reply

