Reese’s Peanut Butter Squares

So, I lied.  When I started doing recipes for the blog, I told myself that even when one didn’t turn out well, I would post about it anyway, because that would “keep it real”.  Yeah….not so much.  🙂  I tried making an apple cake with lemon sauce to post, in keeping with apples and fall and things like that.  So much was wrong with it.  Oh my.  First off, the cake didn’t bake properly and was just a gummy mess.  Secondly, the flavour was dastardly.  Thirdly, the sauce was disgusting.   I was going off a recipe in a book, and changing it so that I could eat it, so obviously something went wrong.  However, the sauce was made as the recipe asked – no substitutions needed – and it was gross.  And lastly, the combo of the apple cake and lemon sauce was not good.  Not good at all.

Here is a picture of it before it baked:

IMG-20150915-00165

And after:

2015-09-15 12.08.51

I refuse to acknowledge the gross sauce by including a picture of it.

In the wake of that disaster, I needed to prove to myself that I actually can make things that taste good in the kitchen.  And I ask you, what tastes better than peanut butter and chocolate?  Nothing.  In this case, Sunbutter, but almost the same.  There is a recipe I used to make when the kids were growing up called “Original Sin Bars”, and they taste like a Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup.  As luck would have it, I had everything in the house I needed to make them, and after consoling myself by licking the spoon and bowl, I now have my kitchen confidence back!

1/2 cup butter or margarine

1 cup Sunbutter

1 cup graham wafer crumbs (I use Kinnikinnick)

2 cups powdered sugar (I didn’t have any, so I pulverized some white sugar in my Blend Tec until it became powdered sugar)

Melt Sunbutter and butter/marg. in a bowl in the microwave.  Stir until smooth.  Blend in the crumbs and sugar until thoroughly combined.  Pat (and by pat, I mean press hard)  into an ungreased 8 x 8 pan.

Glaze:

1 cup chocolate chips (I used Enjoy Life chocolate chunks)

1/4 cup butter or margarine

Melt together, stir, and spread over the squares.

IMG_0390

 

Boom.  So easy, so delicious.  Chill them to set before slicing.

One thought on “Reese’s Peanut Butter Squares

Leave a Reply

