Long-Run Cakes

Today’s recipe – long-run cakes – (or beanie cakes, as we call them), was adapted from a recipe I found in a magazine while waiting for a chiropractic appointment.  Being as this is a chiropractor‘s office, they have all sorts of lovely healthy magazines.  This one was Runner’s World, and believe me, I have no business picking up a magazine about running!

That being said, once upon a time I dreamed of training for and participating in a 5 km run for my 50th birthday.  My foot, however, had other ideas.  I developed a weird little bone growth which basically meant my big toe could not flex, at all.  This being the case, walking was painful, and running impossible.  So, to fix this, I had a lovely surgery called a chielectomy.  I could attach pictures of my post surgery foot, but this is a food blog entry, and you would not feel like eating after you looked at those.  Suffice it to say that this fixed my problem, and my toe flexes just fine now, but the surgeon said, “If you go out and run, I will see you back here in a year.”.  Um…..no thank you.

Since it was from a runner’s magazine, this recipe was created to provide your body with fuel that would be long-lasting.  It has agave instead of sugar, which is lower on the glycemic index, and doesn’t have too much flavour on its own, so it doesn’t take away from the flavour profiles of the other ingredients.  It’s got protein from the beans, and if you don’t tell anyone, I’m pretty sure they won’t figure out the bean component.

1 cup applesauce (organic unsweetened is best, but whatever you have in the fridge will work too)

1 15.5 ounce can of black beans (rinsed and drained)

1 1/2 cups oat flour (just whip up some gluten free oats into a flour-like consistency in your food processor or blender)

1 cup cocoa powder (if you want to be super healthy, use cacao powder instead)

2 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. salt

1 cup agave syrup (this sounds like a lot but it’s divided into a lot of portions when you make the little cakes)

2 chia eggs (2 tbsp. ground chia seeds soaked in 6 tbsp. water until a gel forms)

1 tsp. vanilla

Preheat your oven to 350*.  In a food processor (or in my case, a Blend Tec) combine the applesauce and beans until smooth-ish.  Whisk together the dry ingredients in a bowl.  Combine agave and chia eggs in another bowl.  At this point (since your applesauce and beans are still in the food processor or alternate appliance), add in the agave/chia egg mixture and blend.  Next add in the dry mixture, and beat until smooth.  Use either grease mini loaf pans or greased muffin tins to bake.  Bake for 20-25 minutes.

(insert picture here:  I tried, I really did.  The picture would not upload for me.  Just think – a pretty little chocolate cupcake type deal with sneaky black beans as a component ).

 

You can make these slightly less healthy by adding in some Enjoy Life chocolate chips, or, as I did, melting some and spreading on the top.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

