Date Squares

Oops – it’s Thursday.  I am going to claim that the extreme humidity we’ve been experiencing caused a brain glitch, and that’s why I forgot (until now) to post my recipe.

Throughout my life I have gone to a lot of potlucks, and before I was diagnosed with all these food sensitivities, I ate a lot of wonderful food at these potlucks.  I have also been to a lot of baby showers, bridal showers, funerals, etc.  Inevitably the beloved date square shows up at these occasions.  Everyone seems to have a recipe that they feel is THE BEST recipe.  One woman at our church buys pans of them in bulk from someone she knows that apparently makes the best ones, freezes them, and has them on hand to contribute to any funeral lunches or other occasions put on at the church.

So, being as I like (no – love) to bake, I, too, have a recipe that is the best.  Ha, ha.  I hadn’t made it in a number of years because I wasn’t sure how to manipulate it for my dietary needs.  Having had a lot more experience lately with switching ingredients out for non-allergen ones, I decided to give them a try this past week-end.  After getting opinions from several people, I can now proclaim them a success!  One of those people is my husband and he is being so very helpful by cleaning up all the leftovers for me.  Such a thoughtful man.

(If my naturopath is reading this – I know they have a lot of sugar, but I cut them small and restrained myself while eating them.)

1 cup white rice flour

1/4 cup sweet sorghum flour

1/4 cup brown rice flour

1 1/2 tsp. xanthan gum

1//2 tsp. baking soda

1 1/2 cups gluten free oats

1 cup margarine (check for any allergens)

1 1/2 cups brown sugar

Date Filling:

1 lb. dates

1/4 cup sugar

1 tsp. vanilla

3/4 cup hot water

pinch of salt

Prepare the filling first.  Combine date, hot water, sugar and salt in a pan.  Cook over medium heat until dates are soft and water is absorbed, add vanilla and let cool.

Stir dry ingredients together; work in margarine with a fork until mixture is crumbly.

Spread 1/2 of the mixture in a greased 8 x 8 pan and pat down.  Cover with the date filling.  Pat remaining mixture on the top.  Bake in a moderate oven at 350* for 20-25 minutes.

IMG_0377

 

a) the original recipe calls for a 9 x 13 pan, but I find that way too big for the amount of filling.

b) mine took 25 minutes to bake.

c) as you can see from the picture, these held together impressively well.

d) I had one of these with a cup of Sleepy Chai tea as a nighttime snack, and it was so lovely.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

