Breakfast Cookies

Bananas

Oats

Sunbutter

Maple Syrup

Raisins

Don’t those all sound like lovely things to eat for breakfast?  Either on their own, or combined in different ways?   Yeah….that’s what I thought.  Yum-mo.  Recently Kate and I were privileged to review Kelly’s Bake Shoppe on our blog, and one thing included in our review was Kelly’s Skinny Cookie.  Now, while I would love to live close enough, and have the appropriate budget, to buy these cookies every single day, the truth is I live 45 minutes away, and my budget is….meager.   No worries – that’s what experimenting in the kitchen is for.  I would never claim in any way that I had perfected a recipe that Kelly’s Bake Shoppe has made their own, but as something I can make at home, these were pretty darn good!

4 roasted bananas

2 cups gluten free large flake rolled oats

1/2 cup Sunbutter

1/4 cup maple syrup

1 tbsp. baking powder

1/4 cup raisins

1/2 tsp. nutmeg

1/4 cup Enjoy Life chocolate chips (mini if you want tiny bites of chocolate, chunks if you want fewer pieces, but a good bite.  Your choice.

First up – roasting the bananas

Preheat your oven to 400*F.  LEAVE THE SKINS ON THE BANANAS.  Plop those whole, unpeeled bananas onto a parchment covered cookie sheet, and bake for 20 minutes.  Let them cool completely.  I tried this recipe twice, and by far, the riper the bananas, the more successful this recipe is.  And by riper I mean use bananas with black spots on them.  🙂

 

Now for the cookies:

Remove peels from bananas and mash them up.  They will be very soft, so this will be easy.  Stir in the oats, sunbutter, maple syrup, baking powder, raisins, nutmeg, and chocolate chips/chunks.

Scoop onto parchment lined cookies sheets.  You can use an ice cream scoop, or a very heaping tablespoon.  Flatten the top slightly with a fork.  Bake for 20 minutes at 350*F.  Cool.

 

IMG_0373 IMG_0372

 

I kept these in the fridge, and actually, I prefer to eat them cold, right out of the fridge.  However, I did not get many out of the batch as hubby found them, liked them, and…..ate them.

One thought on “Breakfast Cookies

Leave a Reply

