Cookbooks that Deserve a Look

I love books!  As with anything, there are cookbooks I’ve purchased that are great, and some that have been a little disappointing.  And while I love the challenge of creating something I can eat now with my diagnosed food sensitivities out of a recipe I used prior, sometimes it’s nice to just open a book and make what someone else has already perfected.  The way I figure it, if a cookbook has even one or two recipes for things you love, that makes it worth the money.

 

First:  The Oh She Glows Cookbook by Angela Liddon

Here is a favourite trick of mine – look at vegan recipes.  That will immediately cut out your dairy and eggs,  I am in no way a vegan – I love meat! – but vegan recipes give a good jumping off point.  Sometimes I have to deal with subbing out nuts, soy, or gluten, but that’s doable.  Some of the things I’ve tried and loved out of this book are the Tropical Green Monster Smoothie, the Our Favourite Veggie Burgers, the Gluten-Free Chocolate-Almond Brownies (obviously I made a substitution for the almonds), and the Fudgy Mocha Pudding Cake.  Ooh – now I’m hungry.  The brownies are arguably the best gluten free brownies I have made.  The book has lots of nice colour pictures and very clear instructions. This one is well worth a purchase.

 

Second:

The Homemade Pantry – 101 Foods You Can Stop Buying and Start Making by Alana Chernila

I am a bit limited as to what I can make from this book because of my food issues, but still, this book is awesome.  Some of the recipes I have tried and loved are Car Snack 3 (the nutty granola bar), Roasted Tomatoes for the Freezer, Italian Dressing, and Ketchup.  Obviously I made some substitutions in the Car Snacks, but they were still awesome.  Tonight I’m trying out the Maple Popcorn.  This book is chock-full of gorgeous pictures, and personal stories go with almost every recipe.  There are recipes for very simple things, and things that are a little more complicated.

Third:

The Gluten-Free Gourmet Bakes Bread by Bette Hagman

This one was recommended to me by my naturopath.  I haven’t made much out of it yet, but the two things I have made were really good.  I tried the Egg-free Soda Bread, and the Egg-free Crumpets.  I had to substitute the Nut-Quik, but they worked beautifully.  Even just for these two things, this book is worth having.  Breads are something I end up craving and can’t easily find.  Below is a picture of the Soda Bread:

IMG_0356

In the picture from my blog on books, you can see that I have more than three cookbooks.  Potentially we will do a “Cookbook Review – Part 2” post in the future!

Do you have a favourite cookbook?  Leave a message in the comment section and let me know!

Leave a Reply

