Chocolate Mug Cake

Monday we went to the beach.   I LOVE the beach.  I could go there ten times in the summer and it wouldn’t be enough.  It was actually a four generation trip, as we took Mom along, and Kate and the kids came along too.  We got excellent weather, it wasn’t crowded, the children behaved well….all in all, it was a lovely day.

Pictured:  Little Miss C and Mommy’s Steeped Tea tumbler

11222561_530627887086028_5482467554909042635_o

 

However, with all the sun and water and activity, I got really hungry (and not necessarily for healthy things).  When we got home I had a swift and sudden craving for cake.  Thinking ahead to this week’s blog, I wanted to try something new, and was hit with the idea of allergen free mug cake.  Fast and easy!

Whisk together:

1/4 cup white rice flour

2 tbsp. cocoa powder

1/4 tsp. baking powder

2 tbsp. white sugar

1/8 tsp. salt

It will look like this:

 

IMG-20150720-00147

Add in, stirring until there are no lumps:

1/4 cup + 1 tbsp. non dairy milk

2 tbsp. vegetable oil

Put into a mug.  I used a super-sized one, in fear it would bubble up.  As you will see in the picture, I might have overestimated the size I would need.  🙂

Now, just for fun, drop one tbsp. of Sunbutter into the batter.  Yum.  Do not mix it up.

 

 

IMG-20150720-00148

 

Now, place your mug in the microwave.  If you fear an overflow, put it on a paper towel.  My microwave is 850 W, and at that power this mug cake took 80 seconds.  80 LONG seconds when you’re waiting for cake.  🙂  When you pull it out, it will look like this:

IMG-20150720-00149

If you are like me, you will not wait for it to cool.  You will eat it greedily with a spoon and blow violently on each spoonful so you don’t burn your mouth.

 

Notes:

a) Read your cocoa powder label to make sure it is dairy free.  I know of one brand that packages the small and large packages in different facilities.  One size is labelled “may contain dairy”, the other isn’t.

b) I used unsweetened rice milk

c) If you want a sweeter cake, you can add another tablespoon of sugar.  I tried it with 2, and then with 3 (and forced myself to eat both cakes – on two separate days), but 3 was too sweet for me.

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Mug Cake

Leave a Reply

