Pineapple Squares

Last time I posted a recipe – before our very exciting opportunity to review Kelly’s Bake Shoppe! – I did a pineapple upside down cake.  I love pineapple, so keeping in that theme I decided to try out some pineapple squares.  I have a lovely, in-house photographer (hubby) who is always a willing sampler of any and all baked goods.  Hubby grew up in a family with eleven children – yup, ELEVEN.  When there are eleven children and two parents around the table you learn quickly to eat what is put in front of you, or someone else will eat it.  Therefore, hubby is not a picky eater.  In fact, he will eat almost anything.  When we were first married, a whopping thirty-two, almost thirty-three years ago, I did try a couple of things that were an epic fail, but since then I really can’t remember much that I’ve made that he hasn’t eaten.  So, one might think that he isn’t a very good one to rely on for opinions on my recipes, but one would be wrong.  You see, hubby is also Dutch, and as such, does not mince words when he doesn’t enjoy something.  He will tell me if something tastes “like I made it because I have food allergies.”  Ha, ha.

 

I actually made these squares twice.  Once, for us and for the blog, and because he liked them so much, another time for hubby to take to a bbq he was attending. (I had another commitment, so couldn’t go.)  He knew two people going had dairy and gluten sensitivities, so wanted to bring something they could eat.  He came home with an empty plate, because one of the guys wanted to take the leftovers home.  So…..I’d say they were a hit!

 

1 cup brown sugar, packed

3/4 cup white rice flour

1/4 cup brown rice flour

1 tsp. xanthan gum

1/2 cup butter or margarine

1/8 tsp. salt

1 1/2 cups coconut

Combine above ingredients together until crumbly.  Spread about 2/3 in a greased 8 x 8 pan.  Set aside.

 

3/4 cup white sugar

1 tbsp. lemon juice

1 cup crushed pineapple with juice

1 tbsp. butter or margarine

3 tbsp. cornstarch

Stir the above five ingredients together in a saucepan.  Bring to a boil while stirring over medium heat.  Cool slightly.  Spread over bottom layer.  Cover with remaining crumbs.  Pat the crumbs down with your hand.  Bake at 350 degrees F for 25 minutes or until golden brown.  Cut while warm.

IMG_0456 (2)

Notes:

– These hold together really well.

– These are not low in sugar.  Ha, ha.  That may be what makes them so yummy.

– These are delicious with tea, hot or cold.   I had these with iced Sweet Pineapple Sencha – a lovely pairing!

– I used butter, but if you can’t use that, margarine would be fine.

Leave a Reply

