Mini Carrot Cakes

When I was a young, sensitive bride, we had my in-laws over for their first visit.  My in-laws were Dutch, through and through, and I did not know them well.  Nervously I decided what to make for them, and landed on carrot cake.  I followed all the steps, made the cake and iced it, and proudly served it.  Everyone enjoyed it, and then my father-in-law reverted to speaking Dutch and told some joke about a rabbit and carrot cake, which ended with the punchline which loosely translates as “Gross, eh?”  Apparently the funny thing is that a rabbit doesn’t like carrot cake.   However……to a young sensitive bride, having the other three people in the room laughing hysterically at a joke about carrot cake she had just slaved over, it wasn’t funny.   Particularly since I had to ask what was so funny, and it was explained, “Carrot cake!  Gross, eh!”   I vowed I would never make them carrot cake again, and I didn’t.  Did I mention I was young (and possibly immature as well?)?

 

Fortunately, the above-mentioned husband realized that it wasn’t funny to me and apologized immediately, and the joke was told on their way out the door, so I didn’t have to sit in the awkward aftermath.  I made carrot cake many times over the years, and today I tried an allergen free version!  When I started this blog, I determined to add both great recipes, and ones that didn’t turn out as well.  This recipe worked, but the flavour wasn’t quite what I wanted.  I think I’ll try another carrot cake recipe before throwing in the towel on it all together.

 

1 cup sugar

3/4 cup white rice flour

1/4 cup sweet sorghum flour

1 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. salt

1 tsp. xanthan gum

1 1/2 tsp. cinnamon

3/4 cup grapeseed oil

2 flax eggs

1/2 cups grated carrots

1/2 tsp. vanilla

 

Sift together the dry ingredients.  Stir in the oil.  Add the flax eggs.  Add in the carrots and vanilla, mixing thoroughly.  Pour into prepared mini loaf tin.  Bake at 350* for 30 minutes.  Cool in the pan.

 

IMG-20150610-00141

 

Notes:

1)  I grated the carrots by hand.  You can obviously use a food processor, but I needed the exercise.  Ha, ha.

2)  There must be something about glutenous flours that absorb oil, because I found these to be a little oily.  If you sit them on a paper towel they “dry off” a bit.

3) I always find gluten free baking to be a little “tender”, so gently remove from the tin.

4) I iced mine with a faux buttercream icing (had to make my own icing sugar out of organic white sugar) and once it was on, found that the cake didn’t really need it.  Oh well.  It can be scraped off if necessary.  No doubt my husband will like the extra sweetness.

Leave a Reply

