Chocolate Sauce

 

 

This past week-end we went over to one of my sons’ homes to have an evening of cutthroat card playing.  We started off with Rummoli, using an old school game board that belonged to my Nana and Papa.  I won.

Here is our very old but cherished game board:

IMG-20150520-00136

 

 

Then we moved on to 7-Up.  Such a simple game, such potential for ruthlessness, given the right cards.  My daughter-in-law had the right cards a LOT, and she won this one.  We use pennies to “gamble” in this game, but we give them all back at the end, so that’s okay, right?

 

After 7-Up we went on to 45’s.  Now, my daughter-in-law’s family has roots in East Coast Canada, and as far as I can tell, this game originated there.  There are different rules depending on how many people are playing.  I always get laughed at because I can never, ever remember the order of importance of the cards.  But people, if you only knew…..it’s confusing.  For instance, 5’s are high.  And 2’s are low, but only if they are red.  If they are black, they are mid-range in importance.  The Ace of Hearts is always a big deal.  Also, you have to bid on how many tricks you’ll take but you don’t know what’s in the pot (which could help you, but might not) or if your partner has cards that can help you (unless you cheat, which my daughter-in-law and I have been known to do).  The girls won this game as well, and we didn’t even cheat!  My daughter-in-law is a pro, and I’m sure she shuddered when she saw I was her partner.  I held my own though.  Yay me!  This guy does a good explanation of the game here:  45’s.

 

We always eat at games nights.  That night I tried to go healthy, so brought cut-up fruit.  In order to balance it out, however, I also brought chocolate sauce to dip it in.  I also like to use this sauce in smoothies, and I hear it’s good on ice cream too.  It takes under 10 minutes to make, and it is quite literally so easy anyone could do it.

 

¾ cup sugar

½ cup unsweetened cocoa powder

½ cup non dairy beverage (flax, coconut milk, rice milk, etc.)

4 tbsp. butter (or non dairy substitute)

1 tsp. vanilla extract

 

Combine first four ingredients in a saucepan, and heat until bubbling.  Remove from heat and add vanilla.  Done!  It will thicken as it cools.  Store in the refrigerator.

Here is a picture, but really, you don’t need it.  It is dark brown delicious sauce.

IMG-20150520-00135

 

And now…..you will never have to buy chocolate sauce again.  You’re welcome!

One thought on “Chocolate Sauce

Leave a Reply

