Brownies!

Grain Free Brownies

(otherwise known as little chocolate bombs of deliciousness)

 

I was “in a mood” this week.  In a mood as in I had already been sick for 10 days, I wanted comfort food, and having had grain yanked from my diet, couldn’t think of anything in the treat category that I could eat.  So…..I got out the recipe I’d been using prior to this new dietary restriction, and started tweaking it in my mind.    I figured – worst case scenario I could lick the icing off and enjoy that.  🙂

 

The recipe I had been using is from Oh She Glows.  It was already a vegan recipe, but I had to deal with the almond flour it called for.  So without further ado – Grain Free/Dairy Free/Soy Free/Gluten Free/Nut Free/Egg Free Brownies!

 

4 tsp. ground flaxseed

1 cup whole raw sunflower seeds

¾ cup plus 2 tbsp. garfava flour

2 tbsp. arrowroot powder

½ cup cocoa powder

½ tsp. salt

¼ tsp. baking soda

½ cup plus ¼ cup non-dairy chocolate chips

¼ cup plus 2 tbsp. butter or coconut oil

1 cup natural cane sugar

¼ cup coconut milk

1 tsp. vanilla extract

 

Preheat the oven to 350* F.  Line an 8 x 8 pan with parchment paper, and set aside.  In a small bowl, whisk together flaxseed and 3 tbsp. water and set aside.  Grind your sunflower seeds into a fine powder (I have a BlendTec – you could use a food processor as well).  In a large bowl, whisk together the ground sunflower seeds, garfava flour, arrowroot, cocoa powder, salt and baking soda.

 

In a medium saucepan, melt ½ cup of chocolate chips and the butter/coconut oil over low heat.  Leave on heat until “just” melted.  Remove from heat and stir in flaxseed mixture, sugar, coconut milk, and vanilla.  Add this to the dry ingredients and stir until everything is mixed thoroughly.  At this point add in the ¼ cup extra chocolate chips.

 

Place the batter in the prepared pan and smooth the top.  Bake for 28 to 34 minutes.  Completely cool the brownies in the pan, or they will crumble when cut.  Add icing if you like, or leave plain.

Brownies

 

Notes:

  • I know that flaxseed can be classed as a grain, but my naturopath has allowed me to keep it in my diet, for now. If you can’t have it, sub in ground chia seeds instead.
  • I typically don’t like the taste of “bean” flours, but it is well hidden by the chocolate flavour here.
  • Read the label on the cocoa carefully – some are safe, some are not. If in doubt, go for cacao powder, which is purer.
  • You could use any dairy free milk in these. I just chose coconut milk.
  • As a side note:  a great tea for helping with this long lasting cold was Lemon Honeybush.  I drank….gallons of it.  🙂
One thought on “Brownies!

  1. Hi! My friend and I just created our first blog and we were wanting to create a good follower base. If you could help us, by commenting on our blog or following us, that would be very much appreciated. Thank you! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

