Barbecue Sauce

Last week I was at my naturopath’s office, and she uttered some terrible, terrible words to me.  She said, “Due to what I believe is long-term ongoing inflammation, we’re going to need to  go GRAIN FREE for at least a month to see if that makes a difference.”  That “we” was a royal “we”, because only one of us has to go grain free, and it’s me.  It could be worse, and might get worse.  I might be headed for the A.I.P. plan – Autoimmune Paleo diet.  If you’ve never heard of it, check it out, and tell me what you would eat.  Yeah……sad days.   (Although she doesn’t know it, Mickey Trescott and I have been hanging out together a lot the last few days.  Well, I’ve been hanging out with her reading Facebook posts, perusing her web site, etc.  Although I am not yet on the full blown A.I.P. diet, Mickey has a lot of good recipes and thoughts around this eating style.)

That being said, coming up with recipes to share for the next bit could be challenging.  I wish all my time could be used concocting recipes, and performing kitchen wizardry.  Unfortunately life demands that I leave the house occasionally, teach piano, etc.  Probably the simplest things will be savory dishes, for the time being. Figuring out how to bake or do desserts will be a long term thing.  Maybe I will get my grains back….but maybe not.

On the week-end we have a birthday party coming up for my husband, so I decided to make my own barbecue sauce.  One, so I know I can eat it, and two, because it’s really good!  We love to barbecue, and my husband loves to be the one doing, it, so even though it’s his birthday party, he will be doing the barbecuing.  🙂  When the kids were young they knew he was trapped out there, and would drag out their baseball bats, gloves, bases, etc.  Hey – he might as well play ball if he can’t go in the house!  My husband, bless his heart, will barbecue in almost any kind of weather – rain, snow, sleet – you name it.  Fortunately Saturday is supposed to be sunny and warm, so he’s in luck!

Barbecue Sauce

½ cup packed brown sugar

½ cup cider vinegar

½ cup ketchup

¼ cup salsa

¼ cup Worcestershire sauce

1 tbsp. lemon juice

2 tbsp. chopped onion

½ tsp. dry mustard powder

1 clove crushed garlic

Combine all ingredients and simmer gently, uncovered, for an hour.  Done!IMG_4748[1]

This is great as a brush-on barbecue sauce, or a dipping sauce.

Notes:

  1. I used medium salsa – adjust according to your own heat preference.
  2. I used red onion, because I had a part of one in the fridge. Regular cooking onions are fine too.
  3. If I have to go full bore A.I.P., there are things in here that I will no longer be able to have, which will make me sad.
2 thoughts on “Barbecue Sauce

    1. It’s hard, but doable. It’s much easier when understanding people have sympathy and give me recipes. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

Leave a Reply

