Grape Jam Squares

This recipe started with a mistake.  I really wanted some Smucker’s Grape Jelly the other day, so went on over to Zehrs to get some.  I got home, happily opened the jar, and…..Grape Jam.  Doh.  I mean, it tastes the same and all, but it’s just not….jelly.

So now, what to do with the jam that I have already opened and can’t return?  I remembered a recipe I had used pre-allergy for raspberry jam squares, and thought it might work for grape jam.  A little tweak here, and a little tweak there, and ta-da!  Grape Jam squares.  They are neither low in sugar nor particularly healthy, but a little treat now and then is okay, right?  🙂

Sidenote:  while I was mixing them I had the t.v. on, and happened to be dancing to a commercial when my husband walked in.  He gave me a “what the heck are you doing?” look.  I asked him if he never dances when he’s alone.  I got another look, and he walked away.  I guess he doesn’t.  Ha, ha.  I’m just that happy when I’m baking!

Grape Jam Squares

¾ cup white rice flour

½ cup brown rice flour

1 tsp. xanthan gum

½ cup butter or margarine

¼ white sugar

1 cup grape jam

½ cup unsweetened applesauce

1 cup white sugar

2 cups shredded coconut

1 tsp. vanilla

½ tsp. baking powder

1 tbsp. potato starch

Bottom Layer:  Combine first five ingredients in a bowl.  Mix together until crumbly.  Press in a greased 8 x  8 pan.IMG_4740[1]

Filling:  Spoon jam in small dabs over crust and gently spread so the crust is evenly covered.  (obviously in the picture the jam has not yet been “gently spread”)

 

Top Layer:  Mix tIMG_4742[1]ogether the last six ingredients, stirring well.  Spread over jam layer.  Bake in 350 degree oven for at least 40 minutes until medium brown all over.  Cool completely and cut into squares.

 

IMG_4746[1]

Notes:  1) the coconut can be either sweetened or unsweetened, depending on your desire in overall sweetness in the squares.

2)  Really do completely cool the squares.  They cut beautifully when they are cool.  I did not refrigerate them though – just cooled on the counter.

IMG_4747[1]

3) The jelly wants to stick to the sides of the pan, so do make sure you grease, and run a knife around the edge when you go to take some out.

Leave a Reply

