Oven Caramel Corn

In our last blog post, Kate wrote about Family Game Night.  If you haven’t read it, you need to.  🙂

When you have a games night, of course you need snacks!  One of our family’s favourites is caramel corn.  And hey, why buy it when you can make it?  And quite honestly, homemade is probably better than store bought anyway.  While it’s not low calorie, at least you know what’s in it.  No matter how much I make it doesn’t last long.  Obviously this is gluten free, and depending on whether you use margarine or butter, can easily be dairy free as well.

IMG_4722[1]

 

There are different eating styles in our family.  Some just eat it, and they don’t care in what fashion this happens.  Others eat all the lovely big popped pieces first, and then disappointingly have the broken bits left.  Some (Kate) eat all the little pieces first, and save all their beautiful pieces till the end.  And I can personally attest to this – don’t try and reach into Kate’s bowl for one of those lovely pieces she has saved.  The results will be damaging to you.  Ha, ha.

So here you go – my recipe for caramel corn.  Be sure to read down to the bottom for personal notes, as always.

18 cups popped corn
2 cups brown sugar
1 cup butter or margarine
½ cup corn syrup
1 pinch of salt
½ tsp. of soda
1 cup of nuts, if desired

Mix sugar, butter, syrup and salt, and boil over medium heat for 5 minutes.  Add soda and mix well.  Pour over popped corn; stir until corn is coated fairly evenly.  Put in a roaster and bake for one hour at 200-225 degrees F, stirring every 15 minutes.  Remove to bowl(s), mixing with large spoon so it doesn’t all stick together.

Notes:

  1. I have never measured the popcorn. I usually make two hot air poppers-full. Not that it helps you to know that. 🙂  I just make enough to fill my roaster.
  2. I have never used this full recipe of coating. I don’t think it needs that much. I generally use 2/3 of the amounts listed there, and it is plenty.
  3. When you add in the baking soda and stir, the mixture will become lighter and “puff up”. Put on the popcorn directly – don’t let it sit around, or it will seize up and become useless.
  4. I usually do the 225 degrees.
  5. I don’t use a large spoon to mix in the bowls, I use my hands. Don’t tell my family. Ha, ha.
  6. There is nothing healthy or organic in this recipe.  Once in a while, you need to indulge.
Leave a Reply

