Warm Chocolate Pudding

Bonus blog post!  We usually split posts between us and do one each a week, but it is so darn cold here in Southern Ontario that I just knew somebody would want to have this in their arsenal for the week-end.

Pudding – ahhhh – who doesn’t enjoy lovely smooth pudding?  I do, I do!  Or rather, I did, until dairy was yanked from my diet.   Hmmmm…….think, think……there must be a way around the lack of dairy.  And lo and behold, there is!  The secret is (drum roll, please) canned coconut milk!  Full fat for this.  Nobody wants watery pudding.

In our family we have always enjoyed eating the pudding warm – well, hot, actually.  Like – as soon as it is in the bowl and out of the pan, hot.  This particular pudding is also great the next day out of the fridge, cold.  With the kids out of the house, my husband and I split it evenly.  He eats all of his immediately.  I always have instructions to call him when it’s ready, and he comes running.  I eat half of mine hot, and save the other half for the next day, at which point my husband will try and guilt me into giving it to him.  He has also been known to get out a spatula and clean the pan until there is no trace of pudding remaining to be washed down the drain.  Such a helpful guy!

The man’s quote for this pudding is:

“It is not too sweet, and is great on a cold night.”

He also said it was chocolaty and warm, but that’s a given.  Ha, ha.

Chocolate Pudding

½ cup white or brown sugar  (brown gives it a slightly more caramel flavour)

3 heaping tbsp.. cocoa

¼ cup cornstarch

1/8 tsp. salt

2 ¾ cup coconut milk*

2 tbsp. margarine or butter

1 tsp. vanilla

In a saucepan, combine sugar, cocoa, cornstarch, and salt.  Place over medium heat, and stir in the coconut milk (with a whisk to get rid of any little clumps).  Bring to a boil and cook, stirring constantly, until it coats a metal spoon (or until it looks thick to you).  Remove from heat and add butter and vanilla.

Done!   So easy, so good.

IMG_4707[1]

*I use a full can of coconut milk, and then to make up the rest of the liquid, I add in whatever is in the fridge – flax beverage or coconut milk (in a carton).  If you use almond milk, I do believe this would work too.  You could use more than one can of coconut milk, but that’s too pricey for me.

A couple of notes:

I use organic white sugar

Read your cocoa labels – I know of one brand that has allergy warnings for the large size can, but not the smaller one, because they are packaged in different plants.  Thanks for making my life easy, guys.

I use organic coconut milk.  I just don’t like the chemicals in some of the other stuff.  This time I used Native Forest.

Enjoy, and stay warm.

One thought on “Warm Chocolate Pudding

Leave a Reply

