The First.

Once upon a time there was a mother and daughter who loved to talk and laugh. From the moment the daughter could make noise and respond, they talked and talked, and laughed and laughed. Life carried on, and the daughter got married and had babies. Still, they phoned each other, visited frequently, e-mailed and messaged each other through Facebook and texts many, many times a week. And then an idea occurred to them – what if there might be one or two other people who would like to join in with them, laughing and talking? So the idea of this blog came to life. In this first post you will find some answers to questions which were answered independently, but still came out remarkably similar. In future days you will read life stories, recipes, book recommendations and general musings. Drop by as often as you like! But to be honest, even if no one joins us, we’ll likely still keep writing as yet another way to “be” with each other. Enjoy!

My favourite hobby:
Sandy – Reading. Newspapers, magazines, books, cookbooks…..all sorts of things. And for me, they have to be hard copy, in my hand, not on a Kindle or online. I love to have the physical print in front of me. If I can be the first one to get a new book out of the library, and it still smells new, that is just the BEST thing.
Katie – I love sports – both recreational and competitive. Oh how I miss volleyball. *sigh* I really hope to maybe get back into softball this summer (it seems I am on an every third summer I have to take off due to pregnancy) and maybe even a volleyball league again this fall. I enjoy working out, but not as much as playing a team sport. Being an introvert, I enjoy the camaraderie of sports, and you can sit back and enjoy or have a great conversation (or just a lot of excited shouting).

Dream Vacation:
Sandy – I haven’t been on a “real” vacation in a very long time, but in my head a dream vacation includes sun, warmth, sand, water to wade into, some family around, and some peaceful quietness.
Katie – Does a trip to Target without the kids count? Oh shoot, they’re closing. Okay…how about a trip to my parents’ basement with the TV (Hello, cable!), fireplace, comfy couches and quiet? Now, if I am being truthful, I actually have an amazing (totally free!) vacation WITH my husband…and our baby girl…to Costa Rica in a month. So, no complaints here! It IS our first vacation in six years, so I think my Target vacation is the next best before and after the trip

A food I could never give up:
Sandy – Easy – chocolate. As for food groups I could never give up…..I’ve had to give up so many due to allergies/sensitivities that I just won’t even go there. When I can find chocolate with none of my allergens in it, look out. If I’m making something (cake, pudding, cookies) you can almost guarantee there will be chocolate involved. Chocolate – which comes from cocoa, which comes from a bean, which makes it a vegetable, right? 🙂
Katie – All of them. I find new foods that I enjoy all the time. I rediscover old loves, reinvent foods, and re-imagine staples to fit everyday life. Things like ‘spaghetti squash boats‘ and ‘dates wrapped in bacon‘ are among my list of things that I would have never considered eating that now I love.

One way I am totally like the other person:
Sandy – I think that we both have a fierce love of family. I would suggest that crossing either of us where our children are concerned would not be a good idea. Ha. (I say “Ha”, but I mean it.) 🙂
Katie – You know you are like your mother when people tell you…all the time…at all ages of your life. We have the same voice and laugh, almost the same face (just add in Dutch features), and then though she will tell you she’s not quirky, we have a lot of the same quirks. OCD…it’s a beautiful thing. It is a VERY common occurrence for us to be typing to each other and to say the exact same thing.

One way we are totally different:
Sandy – Kate is much more relaxed than I am, and that is a good thing. I am way more tense and stringent about how and when things get done, and Kate is able to go with the flow much more easily.
Katie – That’s a tough one. Every time I think of one, I realize it’s actually just a similarity. One small one is that I am a more leadership oriented. I love leading a team. I went through College and lead many teams/clubs/groups there. I then worked at that College recruiting students. I loved leading a team of students, and leading others as they made big decisions. I now am a leader with Steeped Tea and so look forward to our monthly meetings and all the interactions I have with my team. It’s a real honour to lead people, and I love doing it, even when that involves big presentations and speeches! I think the main difference between my mom and I here is that I love to lead, my mom loves to teach – though both are similar, but my mom prefers to teach on a smaller scale – one-on-one.

My favourite season:
Sandy – Fall. In order, for me, the seasons go fall, summer, spring, winter. Since we are now wallowing in the pit of winter, you can imagine that I’m just clinging to my remembrance of sunny warm days, and waiting for the first robin to wing its way back to us.
Katie – SUMMER LOVIN. Fall, Winter and Spring…I respect you, I admire your tenacity, but I just love summer so much. The temperature, the activities, the sun, the clothes…it’s perfect. Now, saying that, I find great joy in aspects of all the seasons – tossing the football and crunching leaves at Thanksgiving, curling up by the fire with a cozy sweater and blanket, the smell of spring and getting back outside – there are joys all year and I do like the variation, but don’t take my summer away from me!

What tea describes me:
SandyAfter Eight. I’m no good before 8:00 a.m. I’m up, but I’m no good for anything. Also, I’m better after 8:00 p.m. I’m a night owl.
KateAfter Eight! (Black Tea) -I love the evening. It was very common for me to stay up until 2 a.m. or 4 a.m. when I was in College. Life is different now, but ‘After Eight’ now means that the kids are in bed, so that is a beautiful time! -It is also a beautiful, strong, creamy chocolate peppermint tea! It reminds me of Christmas, which I LOVE, chocolate & peppermint, a favourite combination (though my husband despises it!), and strong like my character and drive!

So, there you have it! That’s us in a nutshell. We promise for shorter posts in the future…but for now, thanks for reading!

 

3 thoughts on “The First.

Leave a Reply

